How To Get Java System Properties Values

Java’s System class maintains a property object which contains the various details of the current user, Java version, operating system, etc. These are predefined values and can be easily accessed by calling the System class level methods. This utility is very useful to get the native operating system details. Lets look at the below example which lists all the default values stored with the System class properties object. Note that programmer can set the own properties values by overriding the existing values.

SystemPropertiesExample.java

package javabeat.net.core;

public class SystemPropertiesExample {
	public static void main(String[] args) {
		System.out.println("File Separator : " + System.getProperty("file.separator"));
		System.out.println("Class Path : "+System.getProperty("java.class.path"));
		System.out.println("Java Home : "+System.getProperty("java.home"));
		System.out.println("Java Vendor Name : "+System.getProperty("java.vendor"));
		System.out.println("Java Vendor URL :"+System.getProperty("java.vendor.url"));
		System.out.println("Installed Java Version :"+System.getProperty("java.version"));
		System.out.println("Line Separator : "+System.getProperty("line.separator"));
		System.out.println("OS Architecture :"+System.getProperty("os.arch"));
		System.out.println("OS Name :"+System.getProperty("os.name"));
		System.out.println("OS Version :"+System.getProperty("os.version"));
		System.out.println("Path Separator :"+System.getProperty("path.separator"));
		System.out.println("User Directory :"+System.getProperty("user.dir"));
		System.out.println("User Home :"+System.getProperty("user.home"));
		System.out.println("User Name :"+System.getProperty("user.name"));
	}
}

Output…

File Separator : /
Class Path : /home/krishna/workspace/Java Project/bin:
Java Home : /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-openjdk-i386/jre
Java Vendor Name : Sun Microsystems Inc.
Java Vendor URL :http://java.sun.com/
Installed Java Version :1.6.0_27
Line Separator :

OS Architecture :i386
OS Name :Linux
OS Version :3.2.0-54-generic
Path Separator ::
User Directory :/home/krishna/workspace/Java Project
User Home :/home/krishna
User Name :krishna

Comments

comments

About Krishna Srinivasan

He is Founder and Chief Editor of JavaBeat. He has more than 8+ years of experience on developing Web applications. He writes about Spring, DOJO, JSF, Hibernate and many other emerging technologies in this blog.

Speak Your Mind

*